Health Alert:

Starting Feb. 29, masking is optional but encouraged in UPMC medical facilities and most patient care settings.

UPMC Breast Cancer Researchers Receive Top Komen Award

Magee-Womens Research Institute UPMC


PITTSBURGH – Two leading cancer researchers from the Women’s Cancer Research Center, a collaborative effort between UPMC Magee-Womens Research Institute (MWRI) and UPMC Hillman Cancer Center, recently received the Susan G. Komen Greater Pennsylvania Terri L. Chapman Award.

Steffi, Adrian, PurcellHusband-and-wife research team Adrian Lee, Ph.D., and Steffi Oesterreich, Ph.D., operate adjoining laboratories at MWRI dedicated to breast cancer research. Lee’s research focuses on clinical translational research, precision and genomic medicine, liquid biopsy, mechanisms of breast cancer metastases and novel therapies for triple-negative breast cancer. Oesterreich concentrates on research of endocrinology, genetics and molecular biology, estrogen receptor co-factors, epigenetics, mechanisms of breast cancer metastases and invasive lobular carcinoma.

The Chapman award, established in 2010, is presented to individuals who demonstrate leadership qualities, impact and influence decision makers, and who support Susan G. Komen Greater Pennsylvania.

The award is named in honor and memory of Terri Chapman, a long-time leader of the Board of Directors of Komen Pittsburgh, who was instrumental in establishing Pittsburgh’s full affiliation with Susan G. Komen, an organization with a $2 million annual operating budget, serving people within a 53-county area in Pennsylvania.

Drs. Lee and Oesterreich—both among a select 60 Komen scholars worldwide—serve on the international advisory group, which helps guide Komen’s research, scientific, advocacy and educational programs in the U.S. and around the world.

PHOTO DETAILS: L to R: Adrian Lee, Ph.D., and Steffi Oesterreich, Ph.D., Kathy Purcell, CEO, Susan G. Komen Greater Pennsylvania; Credit: Komen Greater Pennsylvania; (click image for high-res version)


For Journalists

Cynthia Patton

Wendy Zellner
Vice President